Would Like to Sell My Work

Steve B Anderson

I still consider myself a rookie woodworker as I have not experienced all aspects of the craft. I am still learning on every project and no matter how long it takes, I make sure everything is perfect. I will be retiring in about 10 years and I eventually want to support my retirement by selling my work. 

I plan on having professional photos taken of my work and setting up a website to display my work and build a portfolio.

So my question is, should I set up a business now and secure the business name and web domain now even though I may not have a lot of transactions at this time? I'm not a marketing major but I would think establishing a brand as soon as possible would be advantageous.

Any input would be appreciated.

Steve

Aside from the costs associated with establishing a business and website now, and the constant phone calls and emails you will get the second the domain is secured.... I see no downside.

Realistically, unless you have the best name ever and it will just knock the socks off everyone and you're the next Pepsi... it won't matter.

40 minutes ago, K Cooper said:

Steve, no reply here yet as I am still thinking of the pros and cons. Although I did own a company for many years, it it had been established for many years prior to me taking it over and I wasn’t forced with this decision. 

It's just something I was thinking about. Nothing serious at this time.

6 minutes ago, Llama said:

Aside from the costs associated with establishing a business and website now, and the constant phone calls and emails you will get the second the domain is secured.... I see no downside.

Realistically, unless you have the best name ever and it will just knock the socks off everyone and you're the next Pepsi... it won't matter.

Although not a panacea...make sure you purchase domain privacy as that will cut down on the annoying emails and phones a little.

5 minutes ago, Llama said: