First, but quality Bandsaw purchase

Craver

So I am a new pretty new woodworker and have been acquiring my first tool in most categories over the past year. I am a big believer in buying something that is of high quality and does not cause tons of frustration and/or unnecessary maintenance over the years. I plan on using the bandsaw for general purposes (cutting curves, breaking down rough sawn material, some but not a ton of resawing, etc.) So far with my research and the 10% off sale coming for black friday I am looking to pull the trigger this weekend on a machine. 

2 main options I am looking at.. Though I’m open to other ideas. (Don’t want to spend more than 2k, would prefer $1,000-1,500)

-Powermatic 14in Bandsaw

-Laguna BX 2.5HP 220V Bandsaw

So far from what I can see both look like quality machines, the laguna has the more European style frame with more resaw capacity, and a different type of guide system, where as the powermatic is more traditional and know to be just a quality machine (from what I have read), less resaw capacity, little less power, but it is a little cheaper which is nice. 

I know some have named their horrors with Laguna Customer service, but thats not too big of an issue with me. I do have their p/flux DC and am very happy with the quality. 

Thanks for the help,

Craver

Welcome to the forums, Craver! 

If it were me, I would get the Laguna. The welded steel frame (European) design is more rigid and can withstand more tension than the cast iron frames used on the older style bandsaws. I'm not knocking the PM at all, it's just an older design. The people I know that have the 14BX have been very happy with them. 

• Like 1