Asking for Trouble...advice

David Brown

So as some of you know I am new to this whole woodworking thing.  I am also a single income guy with a wife who is attending school so money is not exactly free flowing.  I am looking for a good (not great) table saw to get me a start.  Something that will work for me until money is a little freer and I decide I like wood working enough..and honestly know enough about it to know why I hate that piece of crap table saw we are now talking about.

So...best bang for your buck, under $1000.  Is my best bet something like the Griz G0715P or what? 

Mike of course has the right of it. There are lots of projects that can be done with hand held tools (either powered or otherwise) that many folk already own or can access a lot easier then something as big as a table saw. Additionally there are lot of projects that are better served by a bandsaw then a table saw, etc etc.

What is your background with mechanics? Do you have any aptitude there as well? There are a LOT of used tools floating around depending on where you live in the world and generally speaking they are a fraction of the price of new and thus you tend to get better bang for your buck. Supply varies though. If in the US what city and state are you in?

I considered the grizz you mentioned, and I hunted craigslist for a few months, but ended up buying the ridgid r4512 earlier this year.  It's working great so far and is very kind to the wallet. I didn't have any of the well documented trunnion issues the saw had some years ago... some claim it's been fixed on all the new ones...worst case scenario is, return it right away if it is a lemon, so it's potentially inconvenient, at worst. For $500 I find it to be a good value, but as Mike says, your requirements will depend on what you plan to build.  (YMMV). Good luck!