Shop insurance

Cliff

I got one of those stepfathers that is all paranoid looney tunes. It's good sometimes, other times a little much. Like when he told me when I was a teen that I mustn't leave a tape in the vcr because it can create a hotspot and burn the house down. Part of being a firefighter I guess. Anyway, he raised a good point.. I got a lot of tools now and they aren't cheap, I need to figure out what is insured, how to track it, what to do if something happens. 

Anyone do this? I thought of something simple like a folder of pics and an excel sheet with models, serial numbers, whatever other data. But honestly it would better if a website somewhere does it for me. I still have no idea if my insurance company would cover that stuff automatically. I need to go talk to them, and while I'm at it, find out the same on my expensive comics. 

Check with your insurance agent or company.  Most home owners or renters policies cover personal possessions up to a certain amount.  But, just like with things like jewelry, your tools if worth a lot when added to your other possessions may exceed the limit on your policy.  I think that you can itemize them and get the covered for sure.  For additional premium of course.

Definitely, take pics and keep a record, at least for the big buck tools.

It doesn't have to be sophisticated. Take something with video capabilities (your cell phone works fine) and do a walk through describing the model of each machine and say the date you are recording this. Then upload it to an online cloud system like google drive which is free and you will already have access to if you have a gmail account. You can put the video in a few different places. If you have serial numbers etc great, you can write them down and show them in the video at the same time. Tada all done.