Chisels and Hand Planes

Josiah Brown

I'm beginning to acquire more tools and am looking at buying some new chisels and hand planes.  I have most of the power tools I need (table saw, planer, jointer, bandsaw, router table) but I want to develop my skills in the finer side of woodworking.  I have very little experience with hand tools and was unsure which tools to buy.  My budget is around $300-$400.  I read an earlier thread in the forums and found a set of 8 Narex chisels for $140 which is fine.  But the hand planes on lee valley are around  $150-$250 each!  Do I really need to buy a plane which costs so much or are there other options which are better?  I plan on using thee tools for many years so if I need to buy the best then that is what I want to do.

Josiah, I think you answered your question in your last sentence. I hear the Narex chisels are decent, i would start with those. As for handplanes I would invest in LN or Veritas. I own all Veritas planes and do not regret the money I spent on them.

From what I remember you are a pretty young guy. Spend the money on quality building up your tools over time and you will have them forever.

Sent from my SM-N910W8 using Tapatalk

8 is great,  if you'll use it.  I have the Narex 4 piece metric set and it hasn't let me down. Sometime i want a mortise chisel but it's not a need.

Planes obviously run the gamete from very expensive to easy to obtain. I've never bought a brand new plane. A stanley sh #4,  stanley lajp, no name block plane and an old wooden jointer are my stable. I doubt I have $400 in them combined. 

The block plane and the Low Angle Jack would be my recommendation as the first planes into your kit.  Both are used probably more than any other plane.

The Router Plane also comes in super handy for cleaning up dados  done on your power tools.

I do agree with Shane tho!  Buy quality!

• Like 1