New shop and beginner woodworker

Hello all. As the title suggests I am a beginner woodworker but I am eager to learn and advance in the craft. My fiancé and I are closing on our first house in a couple weeks and the house has a 30x30 detached garage that I will use as a dedicated shop. My father was a bit of a woodworker however he passed away a couple years ago and I inherited his tools. They included basically everything I could need to get started, table saw, Bosch routers with table, Bosch sliding miter saw, 6” craftsman jointer, 12” planer, jigsaw, worm drive skil saw, Milwaukee circular saw, plunge router, lots of pipe clamps

My fiancé has requested me to attempt to build a dining room table. She likes the farmhouse trestle table look with benches. I have shown her the video by Third Coast Craftsman, https://www.thirdcoastcraftsman.com/product-page/trestle-table-plans on YouTube and she really likes it. needless to say it is a large undertaking as it is mortise and tenon, breadboard top and draw boarding, no mechanical fasteners. I want to tackle it but would this be a mistake? Especially since the lumber isn’t a small cost. Any tips would be greatly appreciated.

I'd suggest joining the Guild (if you haven't already) there's a couple of those tables in there with some very detailed instruction to guide you along.  Reality is that anything you get for free on YT isn't going to really give you enough detail if you haven't done it before.

Cool part about the Guild is that you get the plans, cut lists, and the guided instruction.

Now, for the record, even tho I'm an admin here, that advise comes from me, not the admin.

Just now, JayhawkCRNA said:

I actually joined it when someone bought me the chest of drawers plan, but I haven’t gotten to start that and we would want the table first. I do enjoy the quality of instruction though.

So, you'd just need to go purchase that project and go for it.

Congrats on the new house and shop BTW!