Hammer5573

What’s Your Favorite Dovetail Saw

I’m looking to purchase a new dovetail saw soon and was looking for some input regarding the brand that people prefer. My son gave me a Rob Cosman crosscut saw for Christmas and I have to say that it is an awesome handsaw; however, it’s pricey. I do like the fit of the handgrip on the Cosman saw. I have a Veritas dovetail saw but I’m just not sold on the design. 
Any input would be appreciated.

My favorite is my Rob Cosman DT saw. I have a couple other handsaws, both Bad Axe ,which are awesome as well but for DT's its always the Cosman. I have no personal experience but I have heard good thongs about the Veritas DT saw is well.

I have been really happy with my Bad Axe. Like a lot of things, so much of it is how the saw feels in your hand. 

I've never had one of the boutique saws in my hand.  My dovetail saw is an old Stanley that I'll put up against any, in my hands. The important part is in the sharpening, which I do myself.  I see that LN is getting 40 bucks for sharpening one.  Maybe I should go in the saw sharpening business, when I retire.

The LN dovetail saws look pretty hard to beat, for the price though.  If I was needing to buy a new one, that's probably where I would start.

Ha! My "dovetail saw" is a cheap, hardware store backsaw, salvaged from a miter box kit and re-filed for rip cuts. If I was going for a 'boutique' saw, it would have to be a BearCat.

4 hours ago, Llama said:

Bad Axe, you can customize the handle size, wood/spine choices.

Hey Mel! Where the hell you been and how are you and the family? Miss ya bud! 

• Like 2

I have the Veritas and it’s the fine tooth version. It’s ok, but nothing to write home about.

I use my LN carcasse saw for larger dovetails and it works fine for that. I don’t have a boutique saw for dovetails; my skill level doesn’t match some of the tools I already have! 

I’ve even used a hacksaw and that works well too :)