Other hobbies?

MisterDrow

I'm a web application programmer by career and have taken on woodworking as a personal hobby both for the enjoyment of doing it and the satisfaction of seeing things I make decorate my home. I'm curious what other hobbies folks here have outside of woodworking (which is a career for many here, I know).

As for myself, I enjoy tabletop gaming, the occasional video game (okay, maybe not so occasional), and I compete in Scottish Highland Games competitions around the region. The tabletop gaming and video games are primarily for bonding time with my kids, though my two youngest (son and daughter) also participate in the kids' division of local Highland Games events.

Woodworking is the hobby that consumes all other hobbies, so the ones I used to enjoy have kind of been eroded over the last decade or so.

I used to be crazy about fly fishing, and I've always enjoyed canoeing, hiking and backpacking.  I recently got into cycling, though with a tree falling through my roof and 110* heat index, I haven't done much lately.  I've tinkered with a million other hobbies over the years but those are the ones that stick around with consistency.

• Like 1

2 minutes ago, Eric. said:

Woodworking is the hobby that consumes all other hobbies, so the ones I used to enjoy have kind of been eroded over the last decade or so.

I used to be crazy about fly fishing, and I've always enjoyed canoeing, hiking and backpacking.  I recently got into cycling, though with a tree falling through my roof and 110* heat index, I haven't done much lately.  I've tinkered with a million other hobbies over the years but those are the ones that stick around with consistency.