Looking for my first router need advice

Valleyslim

like the title says, im slowly trying to turn my side of a 2 car garage into a workshop,(i am a beginner) and a router would be a good addition to what little i have. I have narrowed it down to 2 routers with plunge and fixed base options here they are

1 https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00005RHPD/ref=psdc_552866_t1_B0000DCBKN

2 https://www.amazon.com/PORTER-CABLE-895PK-4-Horsepower-Fixed-Plunge/dp/B0000DCBKN/ref=as_li_ss_tl?ie=UTF8&qid=1533939426&sr=8-6&keywords=porter+cable+router&linkCode=sl1&tag=stumpynubs-20&linkId=21cebb518ff5864b0f532414a59f080e&language=en_US

to be honest i think either 1 would be a great first router, just wanted to get your guys opinions, thanks

Here are the links the OP posted.

1. Bosch 1617 EVSPK

2. Porter Cable 895PK

Both are good packages, and I agree that you should opt for a plunge base/fixed base option. Another thing to consider is the accessories that you'll eventually need for this and other routers. Things like guide bushings are not necessarily standardized, though Porter Cables bushing size is used on many brands - Bosch being one exception. You'll have to either use their bushings or get an adapter to use PC size bushings. Guide fences are another thing to consider, ease of table mounting, etc.

As important as anything is how the router feels in your hands - the grips, switch location, balance, etc. Some plunge routers allow you to plunge after pushing down on a lever, some when you pull up on a lever. Some lock with a spring, others don't. Try to get your hands on several and get a feel for them.

• Like 2

I have 2 of the 890 sets as well and think they are a solid choice the plunge base has good DC. The plunge action isn't very smooth but it's improved if you add some dry lube to the guides.