Mission end tables

Damon777

1 hour ago, treeslayer said:

Looks like a great start Damon and welcome to the forum, your work shows that a person doesn’t need a shop full of tools to do fine work, but get the checkbook ready it’s quite a deep and fun hole to throw money at. 

I assure you I have a shop full of tools. Either they didn't get used on this project, are in need of restoration, or I don't have them yet. (jointer).

I'm just learning how to use them effectively now.

• 4 weeks later...

The table are looking great.  

When using a router to make your mortise you might give rounding the ends of the tenons a try instead of squaring up the mortises.  You have some through mortises on your current project and obviously you want them square.  But if they are not through you might give rounding the tenons a try.  I find it a little faster and they don't have to be as exact as squaring up the Mortise.

I have to ask... what is the forklift for? :huh:

2 hours ago, Pwk5017 said:

Love the ingenuity of making do with what you have. Although, you have a forklift and dont have a full size plunge router?! I have 4+ routers, but no forklift, and i could have REALLY used a forklift for most of my tools i have. Moving 1500-2000lb stuff sucks. 

I do have a couple of full size routers, but no plunge bases for either. I plan to install one in a soon-to-be built router table. If I had that built, I would have cut the mortises on that.

2 hours ago, Chet said:

The table are looking great.  

When using a router to make your mortise you might give rounding the ends of the tenons a try instead of squaring up the mortises.  You have some through mortises on your current project and obviously you want them square.  But if they are not through you might give rounding the tenons a try.  I find it a little faster and they don't have to be as exact as squaring up the Mortise.

I have to ask... what is the forklift for? :huh: