How Do You Work a Table Saw?

Alright... I've been passing wood over a table saw for 5-6 years. But today, I finally got my brand new Grizzly G0690 table saw assembled, and I made my first cut in my new garage shop, in my new first house. It was a brilliant moment. I cut 1/2" of the left side of a scrap board. Then I cut 1/2" of the other side. Then I took the 3/4" board and set it on it's side, raised the blade, and went to re-saw it. So this would be my third cut... half way through the cut... it just dawned on me like a bucket of cold water going down my back.... I don't really know what the F*** I am doing... at all! I didn't know if I was supposed to be standing behind the piece or of to the left in case of kick back. I didn't know how far it is "safe" to have my fingers on the wood vs. using a push stick. During that resaw cut, the wood was vibrating like a sum'bitch! Did I need to have a feather board? I know on YouTube or the New Yank WS there is the occasional nugget of knowledge about safety, hearing protection, safety glasses, kick back etc. But... 9x out of 10 is it just from some dude that doesn't wear safety glasses himself in half his videos. 

Is there a Bible on how to use a Table saw, Band Saw, Miter Saw, etc.?

I don't know about the feather board blue. Maybe on the initial cuts on each side. It seems like it would compress the sides on subsequent cuts? Correction, it would compress them on the first cut of the second side as well?

24 minutes ago, Eric. said:

Well first of all you shouldn't be resawing on a table saw.  That's what bandsaws are for.  I know you hear about and see people doing it...but they shouldn't be.  It's dangerous and wasteful of material.

Perfect example of what I'm talking about. Is re-sawing on a table saw really dangerous and should not be done. Or is this just some ol' boy on the internet giving his opinion, knowing I don't have a band saw?

6 minutes ago, Dolmetscher007 said: